The University of Waterloo and the University of Guelph are among seven Ontario universities taking part in what’s called a groundbreaking credit transfer initiative.

The seven schools will allow students to count any first year arts and science course taken for credit at a participating university for general credit at their home institution.  

The effort targets more than 20 of the most popular and high enrolment courses.  

The universities say the initiative provides both clarity and more flexibility for those students working towards a Bachelor’s degree.